Posted in Creative Writing, Poetry, Relationships

I should have known

I should have known that what we did to her you’d do to me,

I should have known I’m not any different,

I should have known I was just some fun,

you were bored, but I wasn’t ready to be done,

Got invested and attached,

I should have known I was never a match

for your cunning schemes and plans,

I was too naïve,

the truth was there just waiting to be seen,

I should have known you’d get your way,

drop me to the ground heart shattered any day

that suits you fine

because really whilst I was yours you never wanted to be mine,

You are happy that’s great,

but it’s sad that my feelings were at stake

as these sort of things are meant to be mutual

and I guess it’s just sort of the usual

for you now that you move and get to be okay

leaving a wake behind you of hurt and decay,

You talked of love and care

but only the words were ever there

too few actions, no consistency,

I wish at least friendship could have been

an outcome but you just ignore me now

giving me no explanation as to how

things broke,

Talking to myself I say that I’ll cope

but you fucked me up after insisting you wouldn’t,

I should have known that your promises were empty,

I should have known it only meant something to me,

I should have known you would have moved on already

found someone else that you want to move steadily

with because she’s better than me, for you at least,

So now I have to pretend these cuts aren’t deep

and that I don’t cry myself to sleep

still convinced that I need you next to me

to be happy.

I knew it had to end

but I didn’t think I’d break,  just bend.

Still bending over backwards for you,

unfortunately my love is still true

and I don’t know long it’ll take to

move on.

I should have known my heart would get broken,

I should have known my feelings would only be spoken

not listened to,

I should have known I wasn’t worthy,

I should have known tears would leave my eyes blurring

as I sit on the end of my bed

stomach clenched, images of you in my head,

I should have known that we weren’t real,

I should have known I was just a part of your highlight reel.

Author:

I travel and go on as many adventures as possible, and if nothing else this is a place to store my memories and thoughts.

Leave a Reply

