Posted in Creative Writing

An open letter to my Dad’s new wife

Hi, in England it isn’t really traditional for a bridesmaid to say anything at a wedding, and it’s even rarer that a daughter can speak at her father’s, but I would say this is a day of celebration more than formality. So for those of you who don’t know: I am Roger’s youngest daughter, and I have known my dad for a little over 19 and a half years now. I can tell you a lot about him, like how his favourite song is The Cinema Show by Genesis, all 10 minutes and 42 seconds of it, or how he soaks his muesli for way too long in the morning, or that he prefers his films with subtitles because half the time it’s just easier to read what’s happening than to listen to it. I can also tell you that over the last three years he has changed a lot, for a start he now goes to the gym, but he also smiles properly, has more energy, and is so much happier.

Emma, you have taken my best friend and somehow made him an even better person, thank you. I have known you for a shorter time, but even so you have continually proven yourself to love and care unconditionally, you have a rare kindness within you and I feel privileged to have a life with you in it. It takes a lot for me to think someone is “good enough” for my Dad, but you go above and beyond every time.

You two belong together in a way that I’ve only really read about in books, the way you exist around each other whilst having such an evidently strong connection is incredible. It’s a clichΓ© to say I hope I am one day as happy as you two when I finally grow up, but honestly, I’m not sure any two other people have been better suited. Truly, you both bring out the best in each other, and I know you’ll make each other the happiest you can be for the rest of your eternity, because that’s what you deserve: absolute happiness.

NB. I read this at my Dad’s wedding in August 2016 after writing it in the April beforehand. After a very turbulent three years of emotional struggle between our family the amount of love and care that has come from Emma is amazing and I can honestly say she has come to be one of the most important and inspirational people in my life very quickly. Knowing she is constantly there for me and fighting my corner motivates me daily to try and be a better person. This post to me highlights the importance of being able to admit you were in the wrong and how necessary it is to apologise. Although the years prior to the wedding were tough I perhaps wouldn’t change them as it led to so much positive change.

Author:

I travel and go on as many adventures as possible, and if nothing else this is a place to store my memories and thoughts.

Leave a Reply

